Self-respect is the cornerstone of all virtue.

I heard something today that disturbed me greatly. Not surprised, but disturbed. I used to work in the lion cage of craziness called facility maintenance. Let me re-affirm USED TO work. Also, I used to work with someone who I am still very close to and I honestly consider my second mother… I have known her for many years and she was my boss at said previous job. I reluctantly left that position because the environment was just too much for my health and the stress was manifesting itself in my illnesses! I could not do it anymore. I was burnt out, that was a common occurrence at this job. Anyways, she was telling me about a woman who was in our department and her meltdown over a verbal warning that was clearly needed. I’ve known this woman when I worked there and I personally despised her. I am just the type of person that does not condone the type of theatrics she portrayed. We all know that one person that no one really likes and they are just so dramatic over every little thing! So.. she gets a verbal warning, has a fucking melt down and makes a huge scene in the office declaring that she quits. It is rumored that she is contacting employees past and present to file a lawsuit. Seriously??? Like I said, I did not like her nor have I ever (I told her that I want to punch her throat the last time I saw her) but have some self-respect!!

When did this modern-day become a place where this is acceptable. This happens all of the time – there is a whole website dedicated to the “People of Wal-Mart”! Now, I am not exactly a sophisticated princess and I certainly know how to swear like a fucking sailor but I can at least present myself in public and act like a lady. Have we lost all self-respect for ourselves, each other and the world? The people around me at least know that I will conduct myself properly.

That is my rant for the day.

Leave a comment