Change always comes bearing gifts…

The bamboo that bends is stronger than the oak that resists.  ~Japanese Proverb

I have decided to begin a blog to document my life, experiences and health progress. The motivation really came with the health thing which I am not thrilled to put out there on the internet but I have found that I am a creature of bad habits and unless I incorporate change and accountability, I will never follow through. In this case, there is a lot more at stake for me. I am also a very creative person and I always have been so I will utilize this page to express my hilarity as well. I know… try to contain your excitement. It was recommended to me by a really good friend of mine to post the many pinterest recipes that I find as I love to cook and use this as whatever feels natural to me. “Don’t make it be homework, make it fun” She said – It is funny how people end up knowing you so well. So, prepare yourselves!

Firstly the reason that I am here, I will introduce my health issues and let you know where I have been and where I am heading. This way here, we are on a mutual understanding of each other (Well, more so one sided but whatever). I have a disease called Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis. It is an auto-immune disease that focuses on the thyroid. I also have, Rheumatoid Arthritis and a Meningioma on my brain stem. I take 14 pills a day which includes 3 vitamins. Fortunately (I say this loosely), I am not that sick. I could be a hell of a lot worse and I am not in and out of ERs or surgeries. I live a normal life. The problem is, I live a normal life AROUND my symptoms. None of what I have is curable and I have been fighting my way kicking and screaming as a petulant child to try and ignore what is happening to me.  I am also fat, there is no way to sugarcoat it. I. AM. FAT. I have accepted that a long time ago. I am completely comfortable and confident with my body but the bottom line is that I have like 100lbs to lose. Thanks to my thyroid issue, dieting has been near impossible and I am too much of a pansy to do anything drastic or change my habits dramatically. I am just used to disappointment so I let myself give up very easily. Overall, It has come around to 2 options. (1.) I keep going the way that I am going (rebelling against my body in any way I can) and die in 20 years or (2.) Change EVERYTHING and live until I was meant to when I am very old.

I had a phone appointment with my doctor this morning – Yes, I have one of those awesome doctors – and she had done some research as to what she wants me to try next. All signs point to excercise on a regular regimen (No huge surprise there) and start the Paleo diet on 2/1/13. She noted the paleo diet has an auto-immune concentration and it would focus my body on detox and regaining the vitamin intake that I am losing. Changing to this diet will also help me lose weight exponentially. This of course give me doubts but I am at the point where hey – what do I have to lose. Oh yeah – BREAD! I have to lose bread… and sugar…. and ALCOHOL!! I loves me some wine. Good god, this is going to be difficult! I am in the process of making an appointment to have a full panel of blood work and all that jazz so I can keep track of my progress. This will require a lot of support, swearing and good old fashioned middle finger to the world but if I make it… then it will probably be worth my life.

Welcome change.