Overcoming Trouble is My Middle Name!

1340846437222_4721986So I had a very interesting weekend. Today is Monday and as I reflecting back on the past few days, I found myself gasping for air. I have taken on a new venture and I also came crashing down (so to speak). Friday was great, uneventful as my friend and partner in crime came over to my house for an editing party and we submitted the new issue of the magazine. We always have a good time, which is something that I truly love about her. Whether we are crying over something that happened to us or laughing hysterically over cheese… it is always a good experience. Saturday was the big kahuna of the weekend!

I went to my first Mary Kay party at Michael’s cousin’s house. I was familiar with the brand but never bought or tried anything, when Michael asked me if I was planning on buying anything “I am not planning on buying anything unless something spectacular comes out and punches me in the face!” Funny story…. I am now a consultant. The problem that I faced was that EVERYTHING came out and punched me in the face! I absolutely fell in love with everything and it made more sense to buy the starter kit and try to make some extra money to try and ease the problem that I was face with and have fun with all the awesomeness!!

After the party and after I got completely sucked in to the black hole of Mary Kay, we had a big party at a local bar. This was planned about a month in advance and we had about 30 confirmed yes’. At least 10 people did not show up and most of the people that did left by like 11pm. Regardless though, it was a lot of fun! There was about 5 people that stayed until it closed and we danced all night and it was so much fun. We didn’t get home until 1:30am and I can’t even tell you how long it’s been since I’ve done that!

Sunday was fun because I went with my friend to the women’s expo. This was very entertaining because I have a really sick obsession with free tchotchke crap. I grabbed everything I physically could that the vendors were giving out. I have a problem but I am definitely not ready to deal with it yet. I made it out with a huge Walgreens tote bag of stuff and papers. I didn’t know what to expect but it wasn’t as degrading as I was anticipating. The vendors covered a wide variety from health information to eye exams, tanning, wine, sex toys, clothes, life coaches and defense tools and kickboxing. One thing that really caught our eye which made the whole experience worth it was the find of Damsels in Defense. They sell pepper spray and tasers, etc. It was amazing. What a great company! It was one of those moments that you walk by and is like DAAYYYYUM! Yep… it was that awesome.

Last night was more of a relaxing note which was great just to kind of diddle around the new Mary Kay information and watching Breaking Bad. I haven’t been responsible lately and I know that I need to change. When I say responsible, I mean financially. I am usually in charge of it but I don’t keep a close enough eye on everything so it tends to blow up in my face. I know what I have to do and it involves just tightening our belts for a few months to get back on track but I hate it. As you know, I have my good days and my bad days but I am not great with money on either of those days. Hopefully, this Mary Kay venture will help me long term and build the life that I want. In the meantime, I will be temporarily going off of the Paleo diet to save money. I will still be eating as healthy as I can but unfortunately, buying fresh vegetables and meats only is exponentially more expensive than some processed foods. In a few months, I will get on it and focus more on my wellbeing but for now, we have to save the damn mula. Ugh.

I am really finding that growing up is very difficult. I have never really felt like an adult until this year. At least, it never really affected me the way that it does now. Maybe because I was always so blissfully ignorant. I learned that from my mom, it’s how I was raised. Unfortunately, growing up with a manic depressant doesn’t always help with getting your own shit together because we always lived by picking up the pieces. I don’t want to live that way anymore. I want to change my life and be the person I was meant to be and that I want to be. I have always known to overcome troubles and what we are going through now is no different. It’s my middle name dammit! Well… not really, my middle name is Diamond but you get my drift!

Leave a comment